Quinoa Nut Maple Granola

Granola is one of those things I really WANT to love. I do.

Quinoa Nut Maple Granola

I have all the best intentions of loving granola, and then I pour my milk in and try to eat it, and I chew. And chew. And chew. And then my jaw and teeth hurt. But this granola is pretty special.

Quinoa Nut Maple Granola with Yogurt & Strawberries

While it has a traditional base (oats and nuts, some coconut), it brings in a number of interesting flavors and textures. Chia, quinoa, and sunflower seeds provide extra crunch and protein, craisins and dried cherries substitute for raisins (which I’m not a huge fan of), and maple syrup and coconut oil hold it all together. I threw in some flaxseed, wheat germ, and hazelnuts, for good measure, since I didn’t have the pumpkin seeds or buckwheat the recipe called for.

Quinoa Nut Maple Granola finished

The result is a delicate, crunchy, cinnamon-y obsession. If you want to see the original recipe click here, but I’ve outlined my version below.

quinoa nut maple granola grains

Combine the seeds and grains (the first 5 ingredients listed) in a large bowl.

quinoa nut maple granola nuts

quinoa nut maple granola coconut

Roughly chop the nuts and add them to the bowl along with the dried fruit, cinnamon, and coconut.

quinoa nut maple granola dry ingredients

Stir all that goodness together, then stir the melted coconut oil and maple syrup in, trying to evenly coat all the ingredients with the liquids.

quinoa nut maple granola assembled

quinoa nut maple granola baked

Spread the mixture onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (trust me, parchment paper is way better than foil in this case).

Quinoa Nut Maple Granola done

Bake for 60-70 minutes at 225 degrees F. Once it’s cool, break it apart. You shouldn’t need to actually break it, it will crumble easily if you just brings the ends of the parchment paper together.

Quinoa Nut Maple Granola with Yogurt & Strawberries 2

Eat with milk, throw in some yogurt, sprinkle on ice cream, or nibble all by itself. Should keep well in an air-tight container for quite a while.

Quinoa Nut Maple Granola

  • 1 1/2 cups of whole rolled oats (certified gluten free)
  • 1/2 cup quinoa (I used 1/4 cup each of red & regular quinoa)
  • 1/4 cup of ground or whole flaxseeds
  • 1/4 cup of wheat germ (you can leave out if you’re gluten-free)
  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup of raw almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of raw hazelnuts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup of raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup of raw walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of shredded coconut
  • 2 generous teaspoons of cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup of dried cranberries & cherries
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil, melted

In large mixing bowl, combine the seeds and grains (the first 5 ingredients listed). Roughly chop the nuts and add them to the bowl along with the dried fruit, cinnamon, and coconut. Stir the melted coconut oil and maple syrup, trying to evenly coat all the ingredients with the liquids.

Spread the mixture onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 60-70 minutes at 225 degrees F. Let it cool and then break apart—you don’t need to actually break it, it crumbles pretty easily if you just brings the ends of the parchment paper together.

Comments

  1. Yum, can’t wait to try! Your advice about using parchment paper instead of foil reminded me of something I’ve been meaning to tell you: Up until recently, I used aluminum foil a lot to line pans when roasting veggies, cooking chicken, etc., so that clean-up would be a cinch. But you know how we’re always trying to get aluminum OUT of things (like deodorant, or baking powder)? It doesn’t make sense to then cook our food on it. So for now I only use it when it’s not going to come in contact with food, like when covering a half-full bowl of leftovers. (I can’t say this is research-based at this point, but common sense seems to dictate it until I have the time to research it.)

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] mentioned here before, granola’s never really been my thing. That was, until I tried this maple nut quinoa granola recipe, and was instantly hooked on the light, crispy clusters. Gone are the days of tough, chewy […]

    Like

Leave a comment